PDA

Voir la version complète : Laptop opinions?

Nichod
07/02/2006, 18h24
My current system is a:
A HP desktop:
2000+ AMD, 1024 MD DDR, 128 MB 9200 SE, 60 GB HD (not sure of RPM),
CDR/RW, and DVD ROM

The replacement I am looking at is:
A Compaq laptop:
Microsoft(R) Windows(R) XP Home Edition with SP2, AMD Turion(TM) 64
ML-40 (2.2GHz/1MB L2 Cache), 15.4" WXGA BrightView Widescreen!!,
15.4" WXGA BrightView Widescreen!!, 1280MB DDR SDRAM, 54g(TM)
802.11b/g WLAN w/ 125HSM/SpeedBooster(TM), 128MB ATI RADEON(R) XPRESS 200M w/Hypermemory(TM) (dedicated), DVD+/-RW/R & CD-RW Combo w/Double Layer Support for just a little over $800

Just curious how well you all think it will run with Carrara, etc. as
I have little to no experience with laptops. I do wonder if the RAM
can upgrade to above the 2GB the website states. I read somewhere that
the 64 bit chipsets tend to allow more RAM usually 4GB, but in order
to utilize it, the computer needs to have a 64 bit OS.

Brian

AWBenson
07/02/2006, 21h44
I don't think you'll have a problem with the laptop. Most of my work is done through my laptop and it is no-where near as powerful as this one.

My laptop:
2.4 Celeron + 786 mb Ram & the video shares from this pool (has 256 mb built in and I expanded with a 512 chip).

The only noticable characteristic is that the laptop doesn't have a numeric keypad and this affects how you would use Hexagon.

Grendel
07/02/2006, 23h42
My laptop is a Compac with the Athlon 64 processor( 3200+), 1gb of ram and 64mb video, XP Home, DVD burner. I have great results with mine pretty much everything I do is on my laptop. Is the Turion their mobile version though, like the celeron? I personally think Celeron and other "Mobile" processors(Pentium M) are crap, a coworker has Hexagon installed on his and it hangs up alot while mine continues to run along no problem. Mine has a 17.4 widescreen and is a full size laptop though, not one of the lighter machines you usually see the "mobile" type of processors in.